Adjourning a Group

Adjourning a group  2137737248_e9f3e429d1

As an early childhood educator, I have been a team member and team leader of many groups and most of the groups I was a part of adjourn on a positive note. A few did not adjourn but just ended with not notice or consideration for the team members.

However, in reading the article ‘The five stages of team development”, are a few groups that it was hard to say good bye. The group consisted of several early care directors, teachers, consultants, parents, and school principals involved in a group to bring awareness of the education gap that was occurring in our community. The objective was to find ways such as stakeholders, state representatives, and grantees who would commit on a long-term basis to help the local community solve the issue. This project ended well we, the project was completed on time, and we had a luncheon celebration. Base on the article this was a good way of adjourning the team, “The leader ensured that there was time for the team to celebrate the success of the project and capture best practices for future use” (Abudi, 2010). This group really did not adjourn because we worked on other projects related to early childhood education in the community, which allowed us to continue sharing our experiences.

I believe that there were groups that were high performing that I have been involved in that at times I wanted to quit mid project and others that I could not wait to finish the project so we could celebrate the success. Some of this group did not set clear expectations as to the end goal of the project. The ones that I was the team leader, I made sure that we followed the five stages of team development, but still met with rejections and team members that did not share that I was capable of being the team leader. Most of the groups that was hardest to say goodbye to were the early childhood partnerships because we brought so much experience to the table. The other groups that I wanted to end fast were church councils, and family related that were extremely stressful.

I am a course away from earning my master’s degree and it would be sad adjourning this group. Honestly, I hope that I can remain in contact with my colleagues so that we can continue to support each other in the future. I have enjoyed being part of these groups from course to course and have learned from each team member. On this has journey to achieve my degree, I have been a part of a group in every course I have taken and sad to say, no one has ever reached out. I have always given my personal email and phone number, but no one has ever called or email. I have however been in contact with former instructors.

I believe that adjourning is essential stage teamwork because “This stage looks at the team from the perspective of the well-being of the team rather than from the perspective of managing a team through the original four stages of team growth” (Abudi, 2010). The project has to end some day and if the team was conducted following the other stages, then adjourning should be easy but sad.

 

Reference

Abudi, G. (2010). The five stages of team development: A case study. Retrieved from

http://www.projectsmart.co.uk/the-five-stages-of-team-development-a-case-study.html

10 thoughts on “Adjourning a Group

  1. Emily, as you adjourn this milestone in your educational life I would like to say congratulation. I can only imagine the .joy you are feeling and some sadness. I have enjoyed reading and responding to your discussion board and your blog. Group 1 has come through the five stages of developing a group and now the adjourning stage is here. We have reflected on experiences in the field of early childhood and given suggestions on how create and work to lead up to the adjourning stages. I wish you the very best in your future endeavors.
    Shelia

  2. I have appreciated your comments and postings throughout this course. Good luck with your final steps. Part of the adjourning stage is to reflect on the group. I also have had no further contact with classmates after the course has ended although I do keep up with the blogs. It seems like it’s more difficult to develop personal relationships online.

  3. Hi Emily, I am with you concerning church and family groups. It seems they should be the easiest to connect with and have a great relationship, but it seems as if your experience mirrors mine. *smh* I do not function well without clear goals to accomplish either. That is like a run away horse, moving aimlessly with no clear destiny. It is also a waste of time and energy, which is too preciois to lose. I am glad that you had great success in education group. Such a great topic to discuss and the opportunity to reach out to the community for help! I am happy for you! Congratulations! Best success as you move forward to reach your goals!!!

  4. Hi Emily,
    I agree with you I’m nervous for this program to end and have an adjourning stage be just a little discussion post good-bye. But I have learned that not every group ends the same so I can’t expect a dinner or party every time I completed a group experience.

  5. Hi Emily
    I truly enjoyed your post! I also believe the fact that adjourning is essential stage teamwork because “This stage looks at the team from the perspective of the well-being of the team rather than from the perspective of managing a team through the original four stages of team growth” (Abudi, 2010).

    Reference

    Abudi, G. (2010). The five stages of team development: A case study. Retrieved from http://www.projectsmart.co.uk/the-five-stages-of-team-development-a-case-study.html

  6. Hi Emily,
    We’re at the end and for you, you’re nearly done the whole program. I wish you luck and peace in your future challenges. Thank you for being part of my learning experiences. It’s always interesting to hear from different perspectives and learn about different situations. I’m sure you will be successful as you are open and enthusiastic in what you do.

    Jennifer

    • Jennifer,
      I enjoyed your post and wish you the best in the future. I am so excited to be completing my degree so that I can teach at the local community college and continue my consulting work in the early childhood education field. You can contact me at anytime, (404) 867-4799 or email Emilycarter30094@gmail.com

  7. Hi Emily,
    Thank you for wanting to keep in touch with your colleagues. I really enjoyed your blogs, thoughts and opinions.And I can really say that I have gained insight from you and your stand points. It is always sad and bittersweet at the end of each course but we have to take the knowledge we have gained here and build on it. Again I wish you much success and a bright future!

  8. Hi Emily,
    I just wanted to say thank you for all the insight and information that I have learned from your blogs! I feel that I have visited and left more response to your blogs then most because I was excited to come and read what you posted each week. I wish you the nest in the future!

Leave a comment